Deserving Times

Customer Honored at Supermarket Gala for Returning His Cart to the Store in the Rain That One Time

“Not all heroes wear capes” has become something of a cliché in feel-good news articles, but the sentiment surrounding that dull statement still rings true for some people. All it takes is a single act of extreme goodness, and one man is being honored for that.

Josh Connor didn’t wake up knowing what would happen on the rainy morning of April fifteenth, nor did he know what adversity he’d have to endure for being a decent person when he got in his car and headed to his local Big D supermarket in the town where he grew up and subsequently never left. As with any hero, the opportunity arose, and Josh seized the moment to become more than he’d ever thought possible.

For that, the Big D supermarket chain decided to make Josh Connor their Person of the Year in their annual gala for his selfless act of courage and determination, making him the first non-employee to earn the title.

“I couldn’t believe it when they first told me about the award,” Josh told us. “I mean, I get it. Does that make me sound full of myself?”

The conference room of the Harriet Hotel was transformed for the event, turning it from a boring meeting hall full of dull management types in thrift store suits into a sparkling, glittery ejaculation of pomp and pageantry. Even a beautiful and not-at-all-garish ice sculpture of Josh Connor pushing a shopping cart stood proudly in the center of the room. A shiny red curtain served as the backdrop for the stage where the podium had been erected. The crystal awards with a shopping cart etched on the front called “The Buggy Award” were placed on a table on the stage for all to see and admire. They waited to be awarded to the various Big D employees who’d gone above and beyond the call of their minimum wage jobs to make the company and their community proud. One award this year, however, was set aside for the sole outsider.

“I didn’t know anyone there aside from the cute cashier who rang me out that day,” Josh said. “They were all super nice to me, though. They’d all heard about what I’d done and wanted to give me an incredible welcome. I have to say, it felt a little embarrassing at first, but I leaned into it after a few flutes of champagne.”

After the awards for fastest cashier, friendliest employee, and neatest aisles were handed out, it was Josh’s time to shine. “And now accepting Big D’s person of the year award,” management icon Tori Davidson announced in her sparkling black dress, “Josh Connor is a name we all know well at this point. I don’t think there’s a single person in this room who hasn’t heard the story of his bravery and heroism. I know you’ve all been dying for this moment, so get up here and accept your award, Josh!”

The music in the conference hall swelled, and Josh stood to a din of applause. Soon every Big D employee in attendance was on their feet, giving Josh the standing ovation he deserved for his act of heroism. A grin lit up Josh’s face as he waved to the crowd as he walked to the podium to be handed his crystal Buggy.

“Wow,” Josh said, looking at the award in his hands. “I never thought I’d win one of these. Until I got the letter saying I’d be honored as Big D’s person of the year, I didn’t know these awards even existed!”

The crowd laughed uproariously. One woman had to rush to the bathroom to stop from wetting herself, and a man slapped a table so hard he spilled his drink. Josh waited for the laughter to fade before continuing his speech.

“Seriously, though,” Josh continued, “I don’t know if I deserve this honor. I would like to think anyone would’ve done what I did in the same situation. This whole thing knocked me for a loop, and I am humbled by this Buggy award.”

After waiting for the applause to die down again, Josh recanted the events of what transpired on that fateful day. “When I arrived at Big D that morning, I had no idea what would happen. I did my shopping, got my groceries bagged, and left the store as I usually did. That’s when things got a little dicey. It was raining hard, and the parking lot was a cold, wet mess. I rolled my shopping cart to my Ford Escape and loaded the bags into the back. My instincts were the same as anyone in that situation. I could have hopped into my car and sped off, leaving the cart in the rain for the employee to have to gather. I decided to take action right then and there. Braving the rain and wind, I pushed the carriage back to the front of the store to put it in its proper place. With that done, I had to walk back through the rain to get to my car to leave. The rest, as they sometimes say, is history.”

The conference hall erupted into whoops and applause as Josh soaked in the admiration of the Big D employees. They had gotten to their feet again, stomping and whistling at the climax of Josh’s harrowing tale.

“It’s hard to have faith in people with all the anger and hatred in the world,” Josh concluded once the raucous hotting and clapping died down, “and I hope my actions help restore the sanctity of humanity. To quote a movie I’ve never seen, ‘pay it forward’. Be the goodness you want to see in the world, and hopefully someone will take notice. I’d like to thank God for this award and my boyfriend Jeff. We did it, baby!”

You did it, Joshy!” his boyfriend Jeff shouted through cupped hands, eliciting another round of laughter from the crowd, albeit less boisterous than after Josh’s initial joke.

“What else can I say,” Josh concluded, “except thank you.”

The music swelled once more as Josh descended from the stage to another standing ovation. He gave some high-fives, kissed a couple of babies, and settled back into his seat for the rest of the award show.

After the last Buggy had been awarded and the final speeches of the night orated, we caught up with Josh as he left the Harriett Hotel heading toward the very same Ford Escape from his fateful story to ask how he felt after receiving his Person of the Year award.

“It still feels so surreal to me,” Josh said while holding his award in one hand and a bouquet of roses in the other. “I’m no saint, but I wondered at that moment what Jesus would do if he was faced with the same dilemma. He’d roll that cart right back to where it belonged, regardless of the storm. Thank you.”

No, Thank you, Josh Connor. Thank you for your kind and heroic actions. If you can learn anything from Josh’s sacrifice, it’s that even the smallest act can lead to having honor and praise heaped upon you.

Update: A week later, a security tape surfaced showing Josh Connor shopping at the Big D a few months earlier. It showed him fumbling with a carton of milk before dropping it onto the floor. Josh watched for a moment as the contents spilled onto the floor, looked over both of his shoulders, and walked away to complete his shopping and leave. 

Big D took action immediately, stripping Josh Connor of his Person of the Year award, banning him from all of the chain’s locations, and issuing a statement apologizing for their negligence when they decided to give him the award.

Josh could not be reached for a statement.