Heard Mentality

"I Feel Like My Voice is Finally Being Heard!" Says Employee Who Got Caught Calling the Boss a "Lazy Sack of Shit"

If you ask them, most workers would probably tell you that their bosses don’t listen to them. Complaints about the workplace are often seen as futile and some might compare it to screaming into a dark, uncaring abyss. But one worker’s experience expressing her opinion has been quite the opposite.

“I never thought management cared what I thought,” says Bethany Moss, a worker at a Do It Your Darn Self (or DIYDS) craft store near Cleveland, “but now I know that when I speak up my voice is heard loud and clear!”

Yes, it seems that Bethany’s opinion about how her store is being run has caught the ear of management and they don’t intend to ignore it!

“Specifically,” says Moss, “I called our general manager a lazy sack of shit not knowing he was standing like right behind me.”

DIYDS is not a company to take such employee concerns lightly and worked fast to resolve the issue amicably.

“Yeah, the GM brought disciplinary action against her almost immediately,” says store Human Resources representative Sandra DeWitt. “She was written up and suspended for the week without pay.”

“It’s good to know,” says Moss, “that we work at a place where our opinion matters and we get to see in real time managers take action based on something you brought to their attention.”

Bethany says this in reaction to being further written up for saying the store’s general manager was “a mole on the taint of this company” that has “turned a weird color and should probably be lanced off”.

“It’s great,” says Moss, “that management has finally given an employee like me a seat at the table!”

Also at the table are Moss’s direct supervisor, the store’s general manager, Sandra from HR, and a member of the store’s legal department via Zoom. Moss is there to be terminated.